direkt zum Inhalt springen

direkt zum Hauptnavigationsmenü

Sie sind hier

TU Berlin

Page Content




In the years 1921/22, Technische Universität Berlin comprised five faculties: faculty of humanities, general engineering sciences, architecture, civil engineering, and mechanical engineering. In the following years, three more faculties were added. One of them was the faculty of agriculture and forestry in 1951. Its contents can still be traced in the faculty today. One year later, the faculty of mining and metallurgy was formed. Its contents as well long remained in Faculty VI in the Institute of Applied Geosciences and can still be traced in parts today. The former organisational structure of the faculty shows that today's study programs at Faculty VI Planning Building Environment already back then were a core area of TU Berlin.

In the early 1970s, all faculties were divided into 22 departments. About 25 years later, the commission of higher education structure found this subdivision not ideal. One out of many reasons is an overly strong diversification of scientific fields. The Berlin Senate as well argued that the number of basic organisational units had to be reduced. As a consequence, the department of civil engineering and applied geosciences were restructured to become Faculty VI. The department of environment and society and department of architecture were subsumed as Faculty VII (Architecture Environment Society).

In 2005, Faculty VI and VII were merged to foster synergies between them. In merging, the new Faculty VI Planning Building Environment was formed. The new faculty structure helps to link all sciences concerning engineering and open space. Hence, the faculty and its subject and course structure are a nationwide unique and internationally rare concentration of sciences dealing with planning, open space and building.



Zusatzinformationen / Extras

Quick Access:

Schnellnavigation zur Seite über Nummerneingabe

Auxiliary Functions